España!

Image

Hola mis amigos!

The past few days have been a roller coaster of emotions! From my tearful goodbyes to finally stepping foot into my home stay and meeting my señora. Mi señora es muy bonita! Adjusting was a little difficult the first day. When I arrived I was greeted with 100+ degree temperature and plenty of hugs and kisses on the cheek. It was literally a warm welcome. 😉 I had no internet upon arrival and can honestly say I felt extremely isolated not being able to contact my loved ones. I was worried about making friends, but after meeting the rest of the students I realized that everyone in the program is amazing. I have made great connections with all the chicas in my group! We are divided into six groups with roughly 10 people in each group. We each have a guide, ours is Alvéro, that shows us around the city. Last night after getting to know our barrio, Nervion, we decided to go out for a few drinks to a place called Tea & Coffee. Safe to say they weren’t serving tea and coffee. It was a great preview of the adventure to come.

Today has been another 103 degree day and we spent it vising El Centro and Plaza D’España. Gorgeous doesn’t even begin to describe the beauty I saw today. The tile work and the amount of time and effort it took to construct such a beautiful building is truly extraordinary. Tonight we are going out for tapas and flamenco with the group and then visiting some outdoor discotecas. Should be a great night with great people. 

When I first arrived I asked myself, “What am I doing here? Can I really do this?” It was a huge leap outside my comfort zone, but it’s about time. It’s about time I start living. I have spent far too many of my 22 years feeling unsure, insecure and frustrated. It’s time to let go and live. It’s time to stop holding my breath for fear of what’s coming and embrace the unknown with open arms. It’s true, amazing really does live right outside your comfort zone. When the safety net is taken away is when it’s time to spread your wings, breath deeply and let go—let go and live!

Some moments I feel like this is just a dream and I’ll wake up any moment. I am forever grateful to my amazing parents for allowing me to take such a trip. At moments I feel what they felt coming to a country, not knowing the language. But I know they had a lot more at stake and I know that if they could do it with two small children and little money, I can do anything. Mama and Tata, if you are reading, you are forever my inspiration.

While I don’t know all that España has to offer, I do that I am ready to take it all in. I am ready for the experience of a life time. I’ve stepped way beyond my comfort zone and I am ready to open my wings and soar.

“Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there you see differently, too. Going back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.”

Until next time, Hasta Luego!

Image

 

About Peaceful Warrior

A college student trying to figure out my place in the world, while making a positive impact, with a lil yoga, puppies and peace mixed in.

Leave a Reply

